There and Back Again! From the Michael Hill International Violin Competition, that is. Other Middle Earth, New Zealand, Kiwi stuff to come later…

The jet-lag after a long trip – especially the kind of trip to New Zealand – often makes me wonder if it’s just my body’s way of refusing to wake up after a beautiful dream…

And so it was that around a month ago, I left for Queenstown, New Zealand, after 10 rewarding but incredibly stressful days of rehearsals and performances in Montréal. At the end of four competitive rounds in both Queenstown and Auckland, the results came out: I was chosen as Third Prize winner of the 2013 Michael Hill International Violin Competition.

Am I lucky? Yes, most certainly. Not only did I receive a very nice sum of cash, an awesome title, I was also able perform all the music that I had signed up for, and I had the privilege to meet and work with some very accomplished, admirable, inspirational people. Knowing how competitions often tend to operate with a lot of unfavourable politics, I am also very proud of myself for staying true to my ultimate mission: that is, to always try to give my own, personal, best performance. Not to say that the competition was necessarily “fair” this time around, I am nonetheless pleased with my own achievements. Bottom line is, I have very much to be incredibly grateful and thankful for!

