Paradise in Houston

Image

It’s one of those days again: when the weather is so very very beautiful outside, but your work is so very very dire inside.

I returned to my practice room this afternoon around 1PM. After a short warm-up, I dove straight into the difficult and meaty repertoire. At some point around 2:30PM, I became so unbearably frustrated that I had put down my instrument and just sit for a moment.

And that’s where the magic began.

Since the Shepherd School is mostly on summer vacation at this point, there was little music-making in the practice room hallways. Instead, the only noises to be heard were the light birdsong of the turtle doves, and the peaceful babbling of this fountain, both of which were just directly outside my practice room window. The afternoon sunlight casts a magical glow in this little courtyard.

What serenity.

